Tags

, , , ,

In observance of Saint Patrick’s Day, I prayed the Lorica or Breastplate of Saint Patrick on behalf of a community. While the prayer is beautiful and powerful, it no longer matches the needs of people. The inveighing against those who fall outside Catholic orthodoxy does not fit with today’s pluralism. Feminist critique of history tells us that those derided and condemned with witches were often merely wise or beautiful women. Meeting today’s witches tells us that they work for good as much as followers of other religions. So, inspired by the Breastplate of Saint Patrick and Dwight Beal, I have composed a new version of the Breastplate.

I stand today
through strength and power
calling out the invocation of the Wind of Divinity
through experience of Multiplicity
through belief in the Community of the Trinity
through confession of the Oneness of All

I stand today
through the strength of the Great Mother giving birth
through the strength of Christ’s Healing Power
through the strength of Love in Christ’s Feasts
through the strength of Christ’s Preaching to those already dead

I stand today
through the fierce Power of the Cherubim
through the Fire of the Seraphim
in the service of all the Choirs of Angels
in the prayers of the Patriarchs and Matriarchs
in the witness of the Judges and the Prophets
in the preaching of the Apostles
in the curiosity of the Children
in the deeds of the Righteous
in the good will of all the People of the Light

I stand today,
through the strength of the Skies
Incandescence of the yellow Sun, Reflecting of the silver Moon
Speed of Lightning, Unpredictability of Wind

I stand today,
through the Tangibility of Matter
the Depth of the Sea, the Solidity of Earth
the Obscuring Clouds, Fire of Fusion and Fission

I stand today
Wisdom to Guide me
Eyes of the Thrones to look before me, Ear of God to hear me
Logos to speak for me, Hand of God to guard me
Way of God before me, Shield of God over me
Host of God to save me
from the quicksand of apathy
from the blindness of ignorance
from the pit of despair
from the systems that entangle
from everyone who shall wishes me ill
afar and near

I summon today
all these powers between me and those evils
against every cruel and merciless power
 that may oppose my body and soul
against the lies of the propagandists
against the hatred of the fearful
against the false succor of idols
against the will of all who turn to evil
Christ to shield me today
against poisons, against burning
against drowning, against damage and decay
so that I may bring justice, life, and joy

Christ be with me and within me
Christ behind me and before
Christ beneath me and above me

Christ on my right and my left
Christ when I lie down and
Christ when I rise

Love in the heart of everyone who thinks of me
Love in the mouth of everyone who spits on me
Understanding in every eye that sees me
Understanding in every ear that hears me

I stand today
through strength and power
calling out the invocation of the Wind of Divinity
through experience of Multiplicity
through belief in the Community of the Trinity
through confession of the Oneness of All

References:
http://www.ourcatholicprayers.com/st-patricks-breastplate.html
http://catholicism.about.com/od/prayers/qt/Lorica_Patrick.htm
http://mcchurch.org/music/Hymn_of_Saint_Patrick_(chords).pdf

